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Lectures & short summary of articles - Digital Marketing and Analytics 2021

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All lectures & short summary of articles - Digital Marketing and Analytics 2021 (February). Master Business Administration at UvA, digital marketing track.

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  • September 6, 2021
  • 69
  • 2020/2021
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Lectures Digital Marketing and Analytics
Week 1 – DMA Overview & SEO
Factors driving digital marketing: average amount of time spent on internet, accessibility of
internet, mobile penetration, digital transformation in companies
Evolution of web: PC Era  Web 1.0  Web 2.0  Web 3.0  Web 4.0 (humans are
becoming more interacted with systems)

Main trends
 Digital Transformation
 Marketing Automation
 App Marketing
 User Generated Content
 Data Driven Story Telling

Touchpoints in digital platforms




Paid media Owned media Earned media
Essence Advertising Content Engagement
Who initiates a Brand Customer (if brand is prepared) Customer
contact?
Form of Brand to customer Interactive between brand and Customer to
communication? customer customer

,Metrics & KPIS
Top 10 metrics marketers are using to evaluate digital marketing programs performance




Conversion: how much you get
Response: could be a survey/how many people signed up for campaign
CTR: paid advertising, ROI: of campaign

Metrics in funnel:




Left side: how you measure it. 100.000 people, 10.000 click through and 50% of them leave
immediately (bounce). You get 1000 leads from 5000 people, then 500 prospects and 100
buy anything

Impression: is a term that refers to the point in which an ad is displayed once on a web page
(or in other words the customer is exposed to an online content (ad) on a website that s/he
is viewing)
 Does NOT necessarily mean that the customer has actually seen the content though

Viewability rate




What does it mean?

,  Total measured ad impressions= number of times an ad was loaded on a page (and
counted by a server)
 Total measured viewable ad impressions= number of times an ad
was loaded on a page (and counted by a server), which was 50
percent on screen for one second or longer (for video ads – two
seconds or longer)

Bounce rate= the percentage of visitors to a particular website who navigate away from the
site after viewing only one page
 Important to understand: web page effectiveness/success and engagement

Click through rate= the number of clicks that your ad receives divided by the number of
times your ad is shown:
 Clicks/impressions= CTR
 For example, if you had 5 clicks and 1000 impressions, your CTR would be 0.5%

Conversion rate= calculated by taking the number of conversions and dividing that by the
number of total ad during the same time period
 For example, if you had 50 conversions from 1000 clicks, your conversion rate would
be 5%, since 50/1000=5.




Importance of search engines
 Google most important, most traffic
 Factors contributing to Google Search:
o Volume of searches
 40,000 search queries every second on average/3.5 billion searches
per day/1.2 trillion searches per year
o Growth in search volume
 Google doesn’t provide actual search volume data. It is estimated that
beyond 2016 it is roughly processing two trillion + queries per year. On
an average there is a 10% growth in volume YoY
o Accessibility
 Almost 50% of the world population has access to internet
o Time spent on internet/Google
 Not only internet is becoming accessible, we are also spending more
time on Google Searches

, An average person conducts 3-4 searches every single day which
translates to 1 hour, 47 minutes and 42 seconds (average time a
person spends per month on Google Search queries)
 Unique visitors: Google gets about 1.53 billion unique visitors per
month on an average
 Unique Searches: 15% of all searches have never been searched
before on Google (coronavirus, drones)
o Importance of search in shopping behavior
 Smartphone: inspiration (57%), research (53%), purchase (43%), post-
purchase (37%)
 Com/Tablet: inspiration (66%), research (83%), purchase (64%), post-
purchase (40%)
o Role of Search in Website traffic
 Direct (36.5%), Referral (21%), Search engines (27%) and other (15.5%)
In sum:
Google search is an integral part of life. We are spending more time on Google search.
Increase in search volume + growth. Integration of search in shopping behavior. Search
contribution in website traffic.
 Great opportunity for marketers to use this medium for advertising

Search engine marketing
 SEM= SEO + SEA
 Search Engine Optimization (SEO) – Organic: how do I make my website relevant for
the searched keyword?
 Search Engine Advertising (SEA) – Paid: how can you be at the top of the page when
someone searches for specific keywords.




Importance of organic ranking
 For online retailers its pertinent to be in the first 5 results to get any relevant traffic
to their websites

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